Siddharth and Rashmikaa Secure Spots in Fenesta Open National Tennis Championship 2023 Finals

New Delhi, 6 Oct – Uttar Pradesh’s Siddharth Vishwakarma and Telangana’s Rashmikaa S Bhamidipaty displayed exceptional prowess as they advanced to the finals of the 28th Fenesta Open National Tennis Championship 2023, held at the DLTA Complex in New Delhi.

Siddharth, the 2018 champion, exhibited brilliance from the very start of his semifinal encounter. Employing ferocious shots and powerful serves to secure a convincing 6-4, 6-2 victory in straight sets against West Bengal’s Ishque Eqbal.

His impressive performance earned him a spot in the finals, where he will face off against the second-seeded Karan Singh from Haryana. Singh earned his place in the championship match by defeating the defending champion. Manish Sureshkumar (fourth seed) from Tamil Nadu, in a hard-fought battle that ended 5-7, 6-4, 7-5 in Singh’s favor.

Also Read:

Carlos Alcaraz’s Unwavering Quest to Dethrone Djokovic Dominates His Every Training Session

In the women’s singles category, Rashmikaa showcased her dominance by triumphing over Maharashtra’s Vaishnavi Adkar, the No. 4 seed, with a score of 6-2, 6-0. Rashmikaa is now poised to take on defending champion Vaidhee Chaudhari from Gujarat in a bid for the prestigious title. Chaudhari secured her place in the finals after her opponent, Sandeepti Rao from Haryana, retired due to an injury when Chaudhari was leading 5-2 in the first set.


Doubles Triumphs in Notable Matches

In other notable matches, Manish and Ganta Sai Karteek Reddy from Telangana claimed the men’s doubles title with a decisive victory of 6-4, 6-3 in straight sets against Nitin Kr. Sinha and Ishaque. On the women’s doubles front, Vaidehee and Rashmikaa emerged victorious by defeating Sharmada Balu from Karnataka and Vaishnavi with a score of 6-2, 6-2 in the finals.

In the girls U-18 doubles category, Maharashtra’s Asmi Adkar and Riya Sachdeva from Delhi emerged triumphant after a thrilling battle against Maya Rajeshwaran from Tamil Nadu and Aakruti Sonkusare from Maharashtra, with a scoreline of 1-6, 7-5, 10-8.

U-18 Doubles Drama and Singles Upset

The boys U-18 doubles title was secured by Chair Warik from Maharashtra and Rushil Khosla from Uttar Pradesh, who clinched the title with a decisive 6-1, 6-3 victory against Satwik Murali Kollepalli from Andhra Pradesh and Keshav Goel from West Bengal in straight sets.

In a surprising turn of events, Samarth Sahita from Maharashtra stunned the second-seeded Cahir Warik in the boys singles U-18 category, emerging victorious with a score of 6-2, 6-4. The final matches for the singles category are scheduled to take place on Saturday, promising an exciting conclusion to the championship.

Dominic Spinley

Dominic Spinley

Articles: 82

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *